The library catalog's built-in social features facilitate the sharing of diverse opinions all across the BiblioCommons community of libraries so that you can rub shoulders with library neighbors across the city, the country, or the world.
Customizable privacy settings allow you to share as much or as little as you like. Privacy settings determine whether or not your interactions with catalog items—things you rate or comment on, add to your shelves or lists—are shared with other library users.
Take some time to check your privacy settings in the library catalog, so everything is set to how you would like it.
To view your privacy settings:
- Log in to your account.
- On the menu, click My Settings.
- On the My Settings page, look for the Privacy section.
No matter what privacy settings you choose for your account, your borrowing history, checked out items, and items on hold are ALWAYS private.
You have three “shelves” to keep track of items you borrow: Completed, In Progress, and For Later.
Shelf privacy settings allow you to control whether or not items you add to these shelves are visible to other library users by default. If these settings are off, anything you add is shared—visible to others. If you plan to add ratings or comments to things you’ve borrowed, you should make them shared. Otherwise, no one else will be able to see what you’ve contributed.
To change your shelf privacy settings:
- In the Privacy section, next to My Shelves, click Change.
- On the My Shelves page, click the checkbox next to each shelf you want to change.
- Click Save Changes.
Regardless of your default shelf setting, you can make individual items private or shared (see Excluding a Title from Shared View). That enables you to share the bulk of your items with others while keeping a few titles private if you wish to.
Activity Feed Privacy
Your activity feed records your interactions with items in the catalog, and with content created by other library users. It shows:
- items you add to your shelves,
- lists you create,
- comments and ratings you add to specific titles,
- lists or comments by others that you like.
Your recent activity appears on your profile page. By default, it is shared and visible to anyone who views your profile page. Other library users who follow you will see your ratings, comments, lists, and likes on their Newsfeed page.
If you prefer, you can keep your recent activity private. If you do so, other patrons who follow you won’t see your comments, ratings or other activity in their newsfeeds.
To change your feeds privacy setting:
- In the Privacy section, next to My Feeds, click Change.
- On the My Feeds page, click the checkbox to make your feeds private.
- Click Save Changes.