Coming to OverDrive in March: Manage Your Available Holds with “Deliver Later”

The week of March 2, a new option for available holds will be introduced in the library's OverDrive e-book collection: Deliver Later. This feature gives you more control over your holds, so you can borrow and read titles when it's most convenient for them.

To support this feature, the automatic hold checkout setting will be removed from OverDrive. You will need to manually borrow your holds when they become available.

What's happening?

Instead of a title being automatically checked out to you when you may not be ready for it, you will now have a few choices. You can:

  1. Borrow it and start reading! You will have a 3-day pickup period to check out your title.
  2. If you are not ready to start reading, you can choose the "deliver later" option and select a set time period when you would like the book delivered to you. Once that time period is over, you will be next on the list.

How will I know when my book has become available?

When a hold becomes available, you will receive an email and/or a notification (a “Notifications” section will also be added to the OverDrive website and the OverDrive app). [Learn more about enabling notifications in Libby.]

Available holds have a three-day pickup window.

You will have the option to borrow the title, have it delivered later, or cancel the hold.

If you choose to have it delivered later:

  • You will stay at the front of the waitlist.
  • The current copy will go to the next person in line.
  • You will choose the earliest date that you would like the title to be delivered. Then, after that date, you will get a copy as soon as one is available.

 

What if I forget to check out my hold?

Once per hold, if you take no action:

  • The "deliver after seven days" option will be automatically applied at the end of the three-day pickup window.
  • You will stay at the front of the waitlist.
  • The current copy will go to the next person in line.

If you take no action a second time, the hold will be canceled automatically.

Why did this change?

This change was made to give you more control over what you read and when you read it, so you can get around to checking every book off your must-read list.

Does this only impact the Libby app?

This change is being rolled out for all OverDrive ebooks whether borrowed in Libby, the OverDrive app, or from our website/catalog.

How else can I manage my holds?

You can still use the "suspend hold" feature before holds are ready to borrow. Hold suspension lets you continue moving up on the waitlist without the hold becoming available to borrow. This means you can now manage your holds before and after they become available, giving even more flexibility and control.

Read more FAQs about holds on Libby Help (for the Libby app ) or on OverDrive Help (for the OverDrive website or the OverDrive app).

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Saint Paul Public Library